The unexpected babysitter

As T had chicken pox this week, we had to come up with a plan to keep him out of nursery but not to miss too many working days. In a desperate moment of madness, I suggested my 25 year old brother-in-law, Kieran. Why madness? Well, before this week he had no experience of children or toddlers. He had never even changed a nappy and my plan was to leave him with a sick grumpy toddler. As I said, madness.

He was perfect! The weakness on his babysitting CV was his strength. Because he had no experience of toddlers, he listened to every word I said. We had a schedule, which he followed to the letter; a simple menu, which worked well; and a quick nappy masterclass to prepare him for the inevitable. T didn’t even poo on the first day. What a welcoming child! 

Kieran is not really interesting in jobs in childcare, but I would give him a great reference. He spent 4 solid days playing with trains. Only trains! But he never complained. He made T dance, eat, sleep, play and draw. He made sure he had lunch at the right time and a clean nappy before afternoon nap. In 4 days he only made one mistakes: broke a babybel in half (T went nuts!).

When it was time to say goodbye on Friday night, T said “bye bye” then pointing at Kieran he added “Kieran mine”. I couldn’t have chosen a better baby sitter for the week. I thought chicken pox was going to be a nightmare but I was wrong, someone up there has a masterplan for me and my boys and He always surprise us.

Leave a Reply

