When the rulebook goes out of the window

I am a very strict mum. There’s no doubt about it. I have a set of rules that everybody needs to follow (mainly the twins obviously). The no chocolate rule. The tidy up your mess rule. The going to bed at 7.30 rule. Etc… Sometimes I can be a little too rigid about my rules, but it’s only because I strongly believe it’s in the boys’ best interest. So IF my mind can be changed, I can be extremely flexible. And that is what happened last week… 

Monday

I’m about to go to work. B is not looking too good today, but I think he should still go to nursery.  Daddy calls 30 minutes later to tell me that he threw up. Mmh…

All rules still apply.

Tuesday

B has been ill for a couple of days now. He actually went to the doctor twice in two days. He has tonsillitis and then he had an allergic reaction to the antibiotics today. 

Rules still apply.

Wednesday morning

B is still not well and he has not been eating for 3 days now, so today I called the doctor simply to find out how long can toddlers carry on without eating (apparently two weeks!) The doctor though sounded really worried. Not about the lack of eating, but by the lack of drinking. We went to the doctor (again!) After checking that B wasn’t actually dehydrated yet, the doctor came up with lots of ideas to get him drinking again. In the end she said “try anything you want as long as he drinks something”. 

After trying everything in the usual list of drinks (water, juice, milk…), I went to the kitchen and got him some squash. I know many kids his age drink squash already, but I am not a big fan of it. After all it’s basically food colouring with a lot of sugar. It didn’t work anyway! 

Wednesday afternoon

I start to worry… We haven’t had a wet nappy since yesterday. 

Rules do not apply anymore! 

Anything liquid in my sight is now acceptable. He starts to drink a bit of my Earl Grey. Not great, but it’s a start. 

I try an ice lolly… no luck! 

Watermelon is even worse! 

I’m starting to panic so I drive to McDonald’s. All children love it, why not B? It works!! He drinks lots of Coke (not in the rulebook, but who cares) and we finally have a wet nappy. I have never been so happy to change a nappy! 

The day ends with chocolate milk. Yes, you read that right: chocolate milk. 

Leave a Reply

