Is two better than one?

Last week I had a very long conversation with an old friend and a lot of it was about the unanswerable question: is having twins better than two children one after the other?

Although there’s no answer to the question, I can’t stop thinking about it. What if I only had one child (at the time)…

If I only had one child I would have had so much more sleep in the past 2 years. I would have not appreciated it at the time, as sleepless nights are hard that you have 1 or 2 babies, but it would have been so much easier.

image

If I only had one child I would have had no reason to write this blog. My evenings would be so boring.

If I only had one child I would have had to go to work. Instead with two children in nursery I make so little money out of going to work that I could quit tomorrow and not notice a difference. This implies that I enjoy my work and I am motivated to wake up and go to work every morning. If it changes, I
will stay at home and play with the boys all day long. It’s good to have a plan B.

If I only had one child everything would take half the time. For example yesterday I was cutting the boys’ nails. With one child that is hard work as toddlers wriggle so much, but at least you wouldn’t have to do it while the other one tries to climb up your back!

If I only had one child I wouldn’t have pictures and selfies of me squeezing two beautiful boys! My phone would be empty without those photos!

image

If I only had one child there would be no fights! Sometimes the boys play together so well and sometimes they are in two different rooms with different toys. But most of the time they want to play with the same toy at the same time… you don’t have to be Sherlock Holmes to realise what happens next!

I don’t know much about being the mum of a singleton. I know a lot about having twins. I also know a lot about sleepless nights, having too many nappies to change and synchronised meal time nightmares, but I still don’t know enough to answer THE question. With all my experience in the matter I honestly believe that there’s no way to determine if having only one child at the time would be better, but I can tell you… it would definitely be less tiring!

Leave a Reply

