First words

Despite the fact that body language says more than words, despite the fact that you can clearly understand your child without words and despite the fact that there is not need for a philosophical discussion at 18 months, all parents want their children to start talking as soon as possible. I was the same and maybe I still am, but am I prepared for it? When the twins will start talking they will feel so grown up. Will I feel sad rather than glad?

Why am I thinking about it tonight? Well, after 17 months and 29 days, finally T called me “mamma” for the first time.

It was a bittersweet moment. On one hand I was exploding with joy and all I wanted to do was hug him and kiss him, on the other hand I looked at my little baby and saw a toddler, a child, a teenager, an adult… I panicked! He talks, he is so old. I could see him about to go to his first interview and use his brilliant communication skills to land his dream job!

Ok, maybe I am exaggerating a little bit, but it is really strange when you are used to random sounds to finally hear a real word. If that word is MUM it’s even stranger. One thing is certain, I am now asking “who am I?” to T every 3 minutes… I wouldn’t want him to forget, would I?

Leave a Reply

