Snacking

Once I read somewhere on a twin mums forum that all you need to go out of the house is a beaker of water and a snack. No nappies?! No, now they are old enough to “almost” predict if you are going to need a nappy and they are not potty trained yet to need extra clothes for possible accidents; so all you need is a snack!

The other amazing thing is that any snack will do. Cracker, breadsticks, rice cakes, fruit, yogurt, but even something a little unusual like dry brawn flakes. Every night when they come back from nursery I’m there to greet them and B asks for brawn flakes. He never gets them, as dinner is usually ready, but he tries every night: comes in, walk into the kitchen, smiles and points at the cereal box.

Daddy thought he was Superman when on the way back from the swimming pool on Saturday morning, I finished all of the crackers I brought with me and the twins were screaming for more food. Daddy realised that he had a packet of rice cakes in his pocket from the day before and took it out with the most accomplished smile on his face: “look at me, I saved the day!”. For the rest of the weekend, he managed to bring that up so many times I lost count.

image

I have just spent an entire week on my own and “snacking” is what saved my sanity. When you are truly 1 against 2, you are allowed to use all the tricks in the book. Bribing kids with brawn flakes was just the beginning. By the end of the week, both boys were allowed to eat holding their favourite soft toys, Chewy and Mu, a bad habit which I have started to regret already. On the other hand when I took them away we had a proper meltdown including 2 full bowls of soup on the floor, clothes, highchairs and walls. I couldn’t have coped with another change of clothes, so the following meal both boys were holding proudly Chewy and Mu and everything went swimmingly.

Another routinely snack are the crackers of the 9 AM Sunday service. Without those crackers we would have a pair of extremely loud toddlers running around the church. I didn’t even consider bringing food to a mass, till I saw another parent arriving with 3 bread rolls, a few breadsticks and a croissant. And he didn’t have twins! I thought, if that boy can have all of that, mine can eat a couple of crackers without guilt. I still maintain that there’s no food allowed when we cross the church door to go and get the communion. B wasn’t very pleased about it on Sunday, but he reluctantly started to walk with me and T without a cracker in his hand. He looked confused though. I bet he was wondering why all these people were queuing up for food and yet he wasn’t allowed any!

Leave a Reply

