Take me to church

Yes, it is the title of the BBC song of year, but it is also what I did with the twins on Sunday morning. Nothing new to be honest, we have been to mass before, but for a reason or another we took a few months break. While mummy was still going to mass every Wednesday, taking the twins by myself on Sunday morning was an impossible task.

In those early months in which they used to nap at 11 AM, the family service on Sunday morning was the perfect occasion for some quiet time for mummy, a snooze for the boys and a free house for daddy. Since they dropped their morning nap, taking them to a place where they are required to be silent was a little too challenging by myself. What changed? They can finally walk!

If you have only one baby and he/she wakes up and ask (or pretend) to be picked up from the pushchair, there’s no problem, but if you have two… It starts to get complicated and a bit of a work out.

Now that both boys are confident in their walking abilities, I felt happier about taking them to church by myself and I was right. I had to use the oldest trick in the book to keep them happy all the way through (food!), but I was so pleased with their behaviour today. They didn’t cry or fight or run away. They obviously demanded a lot of my attention, but I didn’t mind. I was happy they didn’t throw themselves on the floor crying, like some other toddler. I’m sure this will change when they grow older, but I enjoyed the moment of parental triumph anyway.

I couldn’t follow the mass at all, so half way through I started to wonder why did I put myself through it. Then the time for the communion arrived and the three of us walked together all the way to the altar. When the boys received their blessing I knew exactly why we were there.

Leave a Reply

